NSF Large Facilities Cyberinfrastructure Workshop

Alexandria, VA, USA, September 6-7, 2017

Stuart Anderson

Stuart Anderson (Ph.D. California Institute of Technology) has 25 years of experience working on computational intensive Astronomy and Physics experiments. He is currently a Staff Scientist at Caltech where he leads the computing program for LIGO. His experience includes building radio astronomy instrumentation, collecting and analyzing large time domain data sets in a small research group to discover relativistic binary pulsar systems using HPC techniques, working in a large science collaboration to discover ultra relativistic binary black hole systems using HTC techniques, and managing the data analysis computing and archival systems for LIGO.


Ewa Deelman

Ewa Deelman is a Research Professor at the USC Computer Science Department and a Research Director, at the USC Information Sciences Institute (ISI). Dr. Deelman's research interests include the design and exploration of collaborative, distributed scientific environments, with particular emphasis on automation of scientific workflow and management of computing resources, as well as the management of scientific data. Her work involves close collaboration with researchers from a wide spectrum of disciplines. At ISI she leads the Science Automation Technologies group that is responsible for the development of the Pegasus Workflow Management software. In 2007, Dr. Deelman edited a book: “Workflows in e-Science: Scientific Workflows for Grids”, published by Springer. She is also the founder of the annual Workshop on Workflows in Support of Large-Scale Science, which is held in conjunction with the Super Computing conference. In 1997 Dr. Deelman received her PhD in Computer Science from the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.


Manish Parashar

Manish Parashar is Distinguished Professor of Computer Science at Rutgers University. He is also the founding Director of the Rutgers Discovery Informatics Institute (RDI2). His research interests are in the broad areas of Parallel and Distributed Computing and Computational and Data-Enabled Science and Engineering. Manish is founding chair of the IEEE Technical Consortium on High Performance Computing (TCHPC) serves on the editorial boards and organizing committees of a large number of journals and international conferences and workshops, and has deployed several software systems that are widely used. He has received a number of awards for his research and leadership. Manish is Fellow of AAAS, Fellow of IEEE/IEEE Computer Society and ACM Distinguished Scientist. For more information please visit http://parashar.rutgers.edu/.


Valerio Pascucci

Valerio Pascucci is the founding Director of the Center for Extreme Data Management Analysis and Visualization (CEDMAV) of the University of Utah. Valerio is also a Faculty of the Scientific Computing and Imaging Institute, a Professor of the School of Computing, University of Utah, and a Laboratory Fellow, of PNNL and a visiting professor in KAUST. Before joining the University of Utah, Valerio was the Data Analysis Group Leader of the Center for Applied Scientific Computing at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, and an Adjunct Professor of Computer Science at the University of California Davis. Valerio's research interests include Big Data management and analytics, progressive multi-resolution techniques in scientific visualization, discrete topology, geometric compression, computer graphics, computational geometry, geometric programming, and solid modeling. Valerio is the coauthor of more than two hundred refereed journal and conference papers and is an Associate Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Visualization and Computer Graphics.


Donald Petravick

Donald Petravick (B.S. University of Illinois at Chicago) has 32 years of experience working in support of Survey Astronomy and High Energy Physics. He currently heads the Astronomy Core Services Department at the National Center for Supercomputing Applications, where his duties include: Principal Investigator for the Dark Energy Survey Data Management System, Operations Architect for the LSST Data Management Subsystem, and local principal investigator for activities at NCSA supporting the LSST project.

His experience includes computing facilities, large data storage frameworks, international wide area networks, information security planning, high throughput computing, software development, and management for both real-time and offline systems. He also spent a year as a detailee to the Department of Energy Office Of High Energy Physics, where he obtained a level of understanding about agency program management.


Ellen M. Rathje

Ellen M. Rathje is the Warren S. Bellows Centennial Professor in the Department of Civil, Architectural, and Environmental Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin (UT), and Senior Research Scientist at the UT Bureau of Economic Geology. She has expertise in the areas of seismic site response analysis, engineering seismology, seismic slope stability, field reconnaissance after earthquakes, and remote sensing of geotechnical phenomena. Dr. Rathje is a founding member and current Co-Chair of the Geotechnical Extreme Events Reconnaissance (GEER) Association and she was a member of the Board of Directors of the Earthquake Engineering Research Institute (EERI) from 2010-2013. She is the Principal Investigator for the DesignSafe-ci.org cyberinfrastructure for the NSF-funded Natural Hazards Engineering Research Infrastructure (NHERI) and co-PI for the Center for Integrated Seismicity Research (CISR) at the Bureau of Economic Geology. She has been honored with various research awards, including the Huber Research Prize from the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) in 2010, the Hogentogler Award for outstanding paper from ASTM Committee D18 in 2010, the Shamsher Prakash Research Award in 2007, and the Shah Innovation Prize from EERI in 2006. She was named a Fellow of the American Society of Civil Engineers in 2016.